Skip to Main Content
JMU Libraries logo .jmulib-logo-purple{fill:#450084;}
Loading

MBA Resources

Resources for students in JMU's MBA programs.

Been Awhile Since You've Done Research?

Whether you're pursuing your MBA degree in Harrisonburg, hybrid or entirely online, JMU Libraries is here to help. 

This page explains some key terms that your instructors might use when they refer to the Libraries' resources and explains some restrictions about how you can use our resources as a student, working professional, or eventually, as a JMU alumnus.

Tip #1: For online resources, your JMU e-ID and password is used to access most of our library resources. 

Tip #2: For physical resources, you may use your JACard (JMU Access Card) or other photo ID to check items out at any library location.

The most relevant library resources for some key types of MBA assignments are outlined here. Or use the menu to open a page directly and see what resources can help with that topic. 

Most pages on this guide will also have links to the Doing Business Research tutorials that we've created to help undergrad and grad students use the Libraries' resources effectively. If you're struggling to get useful results out of any database, schedule a consultation to meet with me in-person or via Zoom and get one-on-one assistance. 

You might see these words mentioned on this guide, or used by your professors:

Liaison librarian — An expert researcher in the subject area who can be consulted for course projects. 

Article — A piece of writing included with others in a newspaper, magazine, journal or other publication. Which MBAs make more? is an article from the magazine Harvard Business Review. 

Research databases — Search interfaces that enable library users to find articles from journals and magazines. This infographic explains the relationship between articles, journals and databases. 

Scholarly journals — Publications in which articles are approved by other specialists in the field before they are printed, going through a process called peer review. For that reason, these journals might also be referred to as peer-reviewed journals. Many library databases allow you to filter results to see only peer-reviewed articles. This infographic explains how a peer-reviewed article is created.

JMU Library Search —Search for print books, e-books, films, etc., that you can access as a JMU student.

Interlibrary loan (ILL) — Request materials that JMU doesn't own (such as books, articles or films). These are loaned from other libraries and usually have no cost to the student.

Off-campus access — JMU pays for you to have access to highly specialized research databases. Therefore you must have a JMU e-ID and password to access them. How to use library resources off-campus.

ATTENTION: As MBA students, you are not permitted to use JMU resources to benefit your current employer or for freelance work. Doing so could result in JMU Libraries losing access to these resources for future students. 

UPLOADING REPORTS TO AI: Most of our business databases, including Mintel Academic and IBISWorld, prohibit the uploading of PDFS of heir reports or copied-and-pasted content into any AI tool like Chat GPT, Copilot, etc.

Review Responsible Use of Business Databases to learn how to responsibly use library resources in compliance with our license agreements.

What Type of Business Information Do You Need?

Search for scholarly or peer-reviewed articles about business concepts

  • Your best bets are Business Source Complete, PsycArticles, or Computers & Applied Sciences Complete
  • Access these databases on the Find Scholarly Articles page.

Find a particular scholarly article based on a citation

Undertake a comprehensive literature review

Examine your company's organizational culture or strategy

Find news coverage about your company

  • Your best bets are Factiva or Access World News
  • Access these databases on the Read Business News page.

Learn more about the industry you're analyzing

Find financial data for a competitor or industry financial benchmarks

  • Your best bets are PrivCo, BizMiner or Mergent Online
  • Access these databases on the Investigate a Company page

Find financial data for a competitor or industry financial benchmarks

  • Your best bets are PrivCo, BizMiner or Mergent Online
  • Access these databases on the Investigate a Company page

Determine market size and identify your best customers

  • Your best bets are Mintel Academic, Statista, Insider Intelligence or Claritas 360
  • Access these databases on the Find Marketing Data page

Review sample plans from other businesses

 

Understand trends affecting your industry before your interview

Find media coverage about your company

  • Your best bets are Factiva or Access World News
  • Access these databases on the Find Business News page.

Determine salary ranges for a location

  • Your best bets are O*NET OnLine or the Bureau of Labor Statistics' Occupational Employment Statistics
  • Access these databases on the Career and Jobs Data page.

 

Brush Up on -- or Learn -- Basics Business Concepts

JMU Libraries has several resources that can help learn new business concepts -- or review ones that you may have forgotten. 

The Encyclopedia of Business & Finance is an e-book that explains key concepts in accounting, finance, information systems, management and marketing. Use it to learn about concepts like Channels of Distribution or the Time Value of Money.

This link opens the e-book, where you can search for any term.

All JMU faculty, staff, and students have access to LinkedIn Learning. This online library contains thousands of courses and videos that cover business concepts and technical skills for learners at all levels.

JMU Libraries has access to more than 300,000 e-books. These books can be read online in a browser or downloaded to your device. Downloaded e-books expire after their checkout period - usually 14 days. At that time, they can be checked out again, if available.

You must be authenticated as a JMU user to access most of the Libraries' e-books - see how to connect from off campus.