Business Librarian
Business Librarian
This Business Research Guide will help students use information to develop business plans, analyze case studies, or write research papers.
Not sure where to start? Consult with one of our research experts.
Peer research advisers can help with:
-
finding more credible sources for business plans or academic projects
-
citing sources in APA
Your business librarian can help with:
-
identifying whether business database can answer your research question
-
tackling honors capstones, theses or research assistant projects
Prepare for your consultation
Recommended Business Databases A-Z
This box lists library online databases and electronic resources relative to different fields of business. Click on a letter such as B, to open JMU Libraries access to databases such as BizMiner or Business Source Complete.
ATTENTION: Review Responsible Use of Business Databases to learn how JMU students, faculty and staff can responsibly use library resources in compliance with our license agreements.
- BizMiner This link opens in a new windowContent type(s): Industry benchmarks on more than 16,000 lines of business in national and local markets.
Dates covered: Most recent 5 years - Bloomberg BNA Tax and Accounting Centers This link opens in a new windowContent types: Federal tax code, IRS publications, tax rules, tax forms, practice portfolios, news, commentary
Dates covered: Current - Business Source Complete This link opens in a new window
This link opens in a new window
Content types: Peer-reviewed journals, industry and market research reports, magazines, news sources, SWOTS
Dates covered: 1922-present
- Cabells Directory of Publishing Opportunities This link opens in a new windowContent type(s): Search interface for publishing opportunities
Dates covered: Current - Checkpoint This link opens in a new windowContent types: Current and archival tax research materials; complete libraries of Federal, State, Local and International tax research materials; RIA analyst reports; daily updates of cases and rulings.
Dates covered: Current - Claritas 360 This link opens in a new windowContent types: Market size, demographics, social media and sports fan involvement for 200+ consumer brands in 19 product categories.
Dates covered: Varies - Consumer Brand Analytics This link opens in a new windowContent types: Market size, demographics, social media and sports fan involvement for 200+ consumer brands in 19 product categories.
Dates covered: Varies
- Data Axle Reference Solutions This link opens in a new windowContent types: Maps competitors in a NAICS code that are operating in a geographic area (U.S. only: City, State, radius to a particular Zip code) .
Dates covered: Current
- The Economist This link opens in a new windowFull access to The Economist. First-time users must create an individual account using these instructions.
- EconLit This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
Content types: Abstracts of peer-reviewed scholarly articles. Use the Check for Full Text @ JMU button to access the article's full-text.
Dates covered: 1969 to present
- Factiva This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
Content type(s): Business news sources, company press releases, and analyst reports
Dates covered: Current - BMI by Fitch Solutions This link opens in a new windowContent type(s): In-depth reports providing country risk ratings and macroeconomic forecasts for more than 200 global markets plus industry reports on major sectors and historical macroeconomic and industry data. NOTE: Users must log out of current session (under Settings) before logging in again to start a new session.
Dates covered: Current - Financial Times This link opens in a new windowDigital content from the Financial Times provides FT articles published in the daily paper, in-depth 'Special Reports', and company and financial information.
Note: First time users will need to create an account using these instructions.
- IBISWorld This link opens in a new windowContent type(s): Analyst reports on more than 700 U.S. industries.
Dates covered: Current - Insider Intelligence This link opens in a new windowContent type(s): Market data, statistics, and analyst reports on the Internet, e-business, digital marketing, media, and emerging technologies.
Dates covered: Current
- LinkedIn Learning This link opens in a new windowStreaming video tutorials on over 2,000 courses in 3D animation, audio, business, CAD, design, development, photography, video creation, web design, and more.
Note: First time users can get started with these instructions.
- Mergent Online This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
Content type(s): U.S. and international publicly-held company data and analyst reports.
Dates covered: 1993 to present - Mergent BondViewer This link opens in a new windowBond data including US taxable bonds, municipal bonds, retail notes, and bond level terms and conditions data.
- Mintel Academic This link opens in a new windowContent types: Market data and forecasting for consumer industries in the U.S. and U.K.
Dates covered: Current - Morningstar Investment Research Center This link opens in a new windowContent type(s): Financial information on mutual funds, ETFs, and the leading U.S. stock exchanges
Dates covered: Current
- Nexis Uni This link opens in a new windowContent type(s): Newspapers, magazines, company information, foreign language news, broadcast transcripts, analyst reports
Dates covered: Current - New York Times This link opens in a new windowFull access to The New York Times and International New York Times content. Access also includes unlimited access to the Archives and learning tools such as the Learning Network and the New York Times inEducation website.
Note: First time users will need to create a one year renewable account using these instructions
- O'Reilly for Higher Education This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
The O’Reilly for Higher Education digital platform includes more than 38,000 book titles and more than 30,000 hours of video.
- PrivCo This link opens in a new windowContent type(s): Business and financial research on non-publicly traded companies, including family-owned, private equity-owned, venture-backed, and international unlisted companies.
Dates covered: Current. Limited historical data.
Note: Users must create a free, academic account using their JMU email address - ProcurementIQ This link opens in a new windowContent type(s): Analyst reports that assist with buying decisions in supply chains and sourcing.
Dates covered: Current - ProQuest SciTech Collection This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
Content type(s): Scholarly articles, trade journals on science and technology topics.
Dates covered: 1693-present - PsycINFO This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
Content type(s): Abstracts to journal articles, book chapters, books and dissertations in psychology. The Check for Full Text @ JMU buttons will connect you to full-text, if it's available.
Dates covered: 1872-present
- Statista This link opens in a new windowContent type(s): Statistics, charts, and dossiers covering brand shares in global markets, industries and societal topics.
Dates covered: Varies - SAGE Business Cases This link opens in a new windowPeer-reviewed cases from real world situations to instruct researchers and future businesspeople in best practices for future success. Includes cases in accounting, ethics, entrepreneurship, leadership, marketing, and more.
- SAGE Research Methods This link opens in a new windowA compilation of books, reference works, journal articles, and instructional videos from across the social sciences that helps users learn various research methodologies.
- Scopus This link opens in a new windowContent types: Abstracts and citations for peer-reviewed journals. The Get JMU access buttons will connect you to an article's full-text, if it's available.
Dates covered: 1966-present - Sports Market Analytics This link opens in a new windowMarket research and industry news covering all facets of the sporting goods and sport marketing industry.
- Uniworld Online This link opens in a new windowContent type(s): Provides contact information for headquarters, subsidiaries and branches for companies in more than 200 countries.
Dates covered: Current
- Value Line This link opens in a new windowContent type(s): Performance data and growth projections on stocks, mutual funds, options, securities.
Dates covered: Most recent 5 years
- WRDS This link opens in a new windowContent type(s):Financial datasets from COMPUSTAT (public companies), CRSP (security prices) and CUSIP Master File (financial instruments issuers), and RiskMetrics (corporate governance).
Dates covered: 1925 – present
Note: Personal account will need to be created using your JMU email address. - Wall Street Journal This link opens in a new windowAn online version of the Wall Street Journal
Note: First time users will need to create a personal account using these instructions. - Washington Post This link opens in a new windowFull access to The Washington Post online coverage, including unlimited access to interactives and videos. Access is available in the Library Catalog but you can also sign up for an individual account for more streamlined and personalized access. Note: To create an individual account use these instructions.
What type of business information do you need?
Find competitors or industry financial benchmarks
- Your best bets are Data Axle, Mergent Online, BizMiner or PrivCo
- Access these databases on the Data about Companies page
Determine market size and identify your best customers
- Your best bets are Mintel Academic, Statista or Claritas 360
- Access these databases on the Data about Consumers page
Review sample plans from other businesses
- Your best bet is Business Plans Handbook
- Access this e-book via JMU Library Search
Examine your company's organizational culture or strategy
- Your best bet is Business Source Complete
- Access this database on the Data about Companies page.
Find media coverage about your company
- Your best bet is Factiva or Access World News
- Access these databases on the Find News Articles page.
Learn more about the industry you're analyzing
- Your best bets are Mergent Online or IBISWorld
- Access these databases on the Data about Companies page
Search for scholarly or peer-reviewed articles about business concepts
- Your best bets are Business Source Complete, PsycINFO, or JSTOR
- Access these databases on the Find Scholarly Articles page.
Find a particular scholarly article based on a citation
- Your best bet is Google Scholar
- Access this database on the Find Scholarly Articles page.
Undertake a comprehensive literature review
- Your best bet is Scopus
- Access this database on the Find Scholarly Articles page.
Understand trends affecting your industry before your interview
- Your best bets is IBISWorld
- Access this database on the Data about Companies page
Find media coverage about your company
- Your best bet is Factiva or Access World News
- Access these databases on the Find News Articles page.
Determine salary ranges for a location
- Your best bets are O*NET OnLine or the Bureau of Labor Statistics' Occupational Employment Statistics
- Access these databases on the Data about Careers or Jobs page.
Have a Tech Issue?
Check our Notices & Alerts
Check our 
Connecting from off-campus
JMU students, faculty & staff can use electronic resources from off-campus via one of these methods.