Skip to Main Content
JMU Libraries logo .jmulib-logo-purple{fill:#450084;}
Loading

COB 204 - Computer Information Systems

This guide will help COB 204 students use JMU Libraries resources to navigate their research assignments.

Researching Technology Applications in Business

Businesses are constantly exploring new and cutting edge ways to take advantage of technological innovations to streamline processes, expand production, and solve problems. 

The resources on this page can help you uncover how a technology works and how it's being used in business applications.

Find News on Technology & Business

Factiva is a database that allow you to search multiple popular news publications at once, much like Google. However, unlike Google you won't have to worry about coming across a paywall. 

JMU Libraries also directly subscribes to prominent business newspapers and magazines like the New York Times or Wall Street Journal. You can access these subscriptions and more below:

Find Scholarly Articles on Technology & Business Topics

These databases are best for finding scholarly articles about business or technology topics. Scholarly articles can be a useful way to find out more about innovative uses of technology and how it works.

Questions about connecting from off-campus? Review the off-campus access page.

For your project in this class, we recommend you start in Scopus and to explore the other databases as your research progresses. Use the resources below to learn more about how to search in Scopus:

Google is another great resource that can be used to find news articles, blogs, background information on a topic, etc. However, many resources you find in Google, like business news articles from the New York Times or scholarly journal articles, will be locked behind a paywall  -- making it look as if you need to pay for access to these articles.

Often, these are resources that JMU Libraries already pays for. Check with one of JMU's business librarians to see whether the full-text article is available to you for free.

Still prefer searching in Google? We recommend you try using Google Scholar to find academic research. Try these tips to access Libraries' resources more seamlessly while using Google Scholar.

Use the Research Guide for your major to dive deeper into discipline-specific databases.

Sources of Business Case Studies That Have No Extra Charge

A case study can be a detailed examination of a specific company either looking into how it addresses a problem, achieved success, handled failures, and more.

This list contains databases or websites that publish their cases open access (without a fee) or that JMU has a subscription for.

Tips for Getting the Best Info from Recommended Databases

JMU Libraries has created several tutorials in Google Slides to help students use our specialized business resources.

Click on the name of the database to open the tutorial that shows how to search for data and cite the information you find in APA style.