Skip to Main Content
It looks like you're using Internet Explorer 11 or older. This website works best with modern browsers such as the latest versions of Chrome, Firefox, Safari, and Edge. If you continue with this browser, you may see unexpected results.

Marketing

This guide will help students with research on marketing topics.

 

Get Research Help!

This guide will help marketing students use information to develop business plans, analyze case studies, or write research papers.

Not sure where to start? Consult with one of our research experts.

Peer research advisers can help with:

  • finding more credible sources for business plans or academic projects

  • citing sources in APA

 

Your business librarian can help with:

  • identifying whether business database can answer your research question

  • tackling honors capstones, theses or research assistant projects

 

Prepare for your consultation

What type of business information do you need?

Find competitors or industry financial benchmarks

  • Your best bets are Data Axle, Mergent Online, BizMiner or PrivCo 
  • Access these databases on the Data about Companies page

Determine market size and identify your best customers

  • Your best bets are Mintel Academic, Statista or Claritas 360
  • Access these databases on the Data about Consumers page

Review sample plans from other businesses

 

Examine your company's organizational culture or strategy

  • Your best bet is Business Source Complete
  • Access this database on the Data about Companies page.

Find media coverage about your company

  • Your best bet is Factiva or Access World News
  • Access these databases on the Find News Articles page.

Learn more about the industry you're analyzing

  • Your best bets are Mergent Online or IBISWorld
  • Access these databases on the Data about Companies page

Search for scholarly or peer-reviewed articles about business concepts

  • Your best bets are Business Source Complete, PsycINFO, or JSTOR
  • Access these databases on the Find Scholarly Articles page.

Find a particular scholarly article based on a citation

Undertake a comprehensive literature review

 

Understand trends affecting your industry before your interview

Find media coverage about your company

  • Your best bet is Factiva or Access World News
  • Access these databases on the Find News Articles page.

Determine salary ranges for a location

  • Your best bets are O*NET OnLine or the Bureau of Labor Statistics' Occupational Employment Statistics
  • Access these databases on the Data about Careers or Jobs page.

 

Frequently used resources

Have a Tech Issue?

Alert icon Check our Notices & Alerts  

undefined Chat or Send us a message

Connecting from off-campus

JMU students, faculty & staff can use electronic resources from off-campus via one of these methods.

New resources in marketing

Effective SEO and Content Marketing

Get beyond the basics and see how modern-day users are reimaging the SEO process. SEO is often underutilized and overlooked across the marketing realm today. SEO is not merely trying to improve your website ranking on Google, but it can spark and optimize ideas. Above all it can help improve the amount of free traffic coming to your web properties. This book provides you with a comprehensive approach to make sure marketing spend is utilized as effectively as possible and deliver the best ROI for your brand and business.

Value in Marketing

The concept of value has been at the heart of marketing thought and practice. Marketers strive to develop a unique value proposition to satisfy the needs of customers in order to create a differentiated offering to targeted customers. It is the unique value delivered by products and services that defines firm's competitive market positioning. Value in marketing is delivered to customers, stakeholders, shareholders, ecosystems and society. While the literature has been unanimously emphasizing the economic interpretation of value, measured in money terms, marketing has been at the forefront of critical thinking bringing to the fore new meanings and interpretations of value that have unlocked the psychological, emotional, social and ecological value of products and services to customers.

Sustainability Marketing

With changing business needs and increased levels of consumer awareness concerning social and ecological issues, organisations need to realign their profitability strategies in order to demonstrate their engagement with sustainable practices. Sustainability Marketing: New directions and practices explores how an increase in customer's desire for sustainable products can form a key part of new marketing strategies. The authors shed new light on strategies that capture the benefits of sustainability from an ecological, social and profitability standpoint in business, while explaining the strategic intent required for building marketing strategies that will provide a competitive advantage.

Marketing in Customer Technology Environments

New customer technology environments are magical worlds. With the rise of virtual reality, augmented reality, the internet of things and more, customers are more engaged, more involved, and easier to reach than ever. Providing an accessible description of these new, emerging technologies, along with novel frameworks with which to apply them, marketing expert Devanathan Sudharshan offers a straightforward guide to leveraging CTEs. Laden with examples to make the discussion vivid for readers and excite their imaginations, Sudharshan covers decision making in CTEs, mixed reality technologies and enabling technologies.

The Organic Growth Playbook

Conventional marketing strategies that focus on product differentiation and positioning often fail to deliver faster growth. Jaworski and Lurie offer a novel approach to the problem of growth based on two simple but profound insights.  First, they demonstrate that in every purchase process there are a few high-yield customer behaviors that matter most in determining whether and what customers buy.  Second, they show how changing those high-yield customer behaviors can consistently drive faster revenue growth. Drawing on decades of client work, the authors provide a detailed, engaging account of a proven system for accelerating - or even doubling - growth.  As evidence of its value, the system has been adopted by a host of Fortune 500 firms as their marketing and growth planning process.

Beyond Multi-Channel Marketing

The authors of this book delve into the rapidly developing field of dual marketing, investigating the strategic alliances, multi-stakeholder perspectives and branding potential it holds. Readers will glean innovative and practical insights, providing them with the ability to comprehend the existing link between dual marketing and multichannel marketing and explore its relation to branding and integrated marketing communication. With worldwide appeal, the theoretical and empirical analysis carried out in this book offers cutting edge ideas and techniques to marketing practitioners, supply chain managers and B2B2C company managers looking to understand the digital transformation permeating the whole of organisational life beyond just marketing and communication facets.

Digital Marketing Management, Second Edition

This book is for managers and would-be managers who need to upgrade their knowledge of digital marketing. Told from the perspective of marketing strategy, it puts digital marketing in the context of firm strategy selection. The first step in digital marketing is to understand your company and your brand. The next step is to put content and keywords on your web and mobile sites so that they can be found in search. Then use the delivery platforms of digital content, e-mail, social, and mobile, to deploy that content to the customer. The final topics in the book focus on the importance of data management and privacy as well as the emerging roles of analytics, artificial intelligence and marketing automation.

Storytelling in Luxury Fashion

This book examines the ways in which luxury fashion brands use their heritage in their digital storytelling and marketing. With chapters from authors in China and Macau (PRC), India, Romania, Turkey, the United Kingdom, and the United States, covering British, Chinese, French, Japanese, Indian, Italian, and Turkish brands, this truly global collection is the first book of its kind devoted solely to the emerging study of digital heritage storytelling. This method of reaching potential consumers and perpetuating brand identity is a hugely important factor in the marketing of luxury brands and has yet to be studied comprehensively.

Marketing Analytics

Big data analytics is the engine that drives marketing, providing a forward-looking, predictive perspective for marketing decision-making. The book presents actual cases and data, giving readers invaluable real-world instruction. The cases show how to identify relevant data, choose the best analytics technique, and investigate the link between marketing plans and customer behavior. These actual scenarios shed light on the most pressing marketing questions, such as setting the optimal price for one's product or designing effective digital marketing campaigns.

Stand Out!

Stand Out! is a book about branding and its evolution, practice, and power in today's digital age. It presents the "why-do" and the "how-to" along with a passionate philosophy on transforming business through brand-centered change. It spells out a sequential, easily understandable, proven brand-building process and is a key reference text for anyone interested in brand development, leadership, innovation, and sustainable business growth. Reader understanding and enjoyment are enhanced by ample presentation of supporting tables, charts, case examples, expert tips, real-life experiences and pull-out quotes, as well as a helpful "word wizard" glossary at the end of each chapter explaining business terms and expressions used.

Contemporary Issues in Digital Marketing

This book presents a comprehensive overview of the key topics, best practices, future opportunities and challenges in the Digital Marketing discourse. With contributions from world-renowned experts, the book covers: * Big Data, Artificial Intelligence and Analytics in Digital Marketing * Emerging technologies and how they can enhance User Experience * Issues surrounding ethics and privacy * Current and future issues surrounding Social Media * Key considerations for the future of Digital Marketing * Case studies and examples from real-life organisations.

Social Media Strategy

Social Media Strategy: Marketing, Advertising and Public Relations in the Consumer Revolution, Third Edition is a blueprint for the practice of marketing communications, advertising and public relations in a digital world where the consumer holds the power. This new edition presents up-to-date strategies for innovating change, supporting traditional efforts, and leverage consumer influence for the good of the brand. Examples from small businesses, large corporations, and non-profit organizations provide real-world statistics in an accessible and highly practical text.This new and updated edition presents a fuller, integrated approach to the traditional disciplines of marketing, advertising, and public relations.