Business Librarian
Document information as you research
Document information as you find it
Pasting a bunch of links into a document and making sense of them later is counterproductive. It wastes time if you have to re-scan and determine value later. Instead, highlight exactly what key information a source provides as you collect sources. Two other tips:
- Use persistent or permalinks. Beware! Copying the URL from the browser won't always reopen the search results.
- Adopt a file-naming convention to make your documents easier to search
Help
- Pro tip: Save your research with persistent links (PDF)Some business databases don't let you copy the URL and re-open the article later. This file shows how to access search results at a later time.
- Pro tip: Name your files smartly (PDF)Using a file-naming convention (FNC) will save time and reduce stress.
Recommended resources
- Document sources_Template (Google Sheets)Make a copy of this template into your Google Drive folder and document where you find evidence to cite later.
Choose a citation manager
Most business reports require 2 types of citations: In-text citations in the narrative and an alphabetized bibliography of citations at the end.
Remember: The goal of every in-text citation is to direct your readers back to the bibliography so they can verify the information on their own. They work together.
Recommended citation generator
- ZoteroBibHelps you build a bibliography instantly from any computer or device, without creating an account or installing any software
Other help with APA style
- Doing Business Research: What information you need to cite JMU business databasesShows you how to create citations for common business databases, since citation generators often can't parse permalinks.
- Complete APA citation guide for COB 300 (PDF)Includes a sample of what a bibliography and in-text citations should look like in APA 7th.
- APA Formatting & Style GuideA thorough guide to APA style from Purdue University.
- Missing Pieces: How to Write an APA Style Reference Even Without All the InformationThe authors of the APA style manual answers questions about unique style problems, e.g., "How do I cite a mobile app?"
- JMU Writing CenterSchedule an appointment or attend drop-in hours in the Student Success Center.