Business Librarian
Industry analysis
These reports examine trends affecting firms operating in an industry, such as supply chain issues or changes in demand determinants.
- IBISWorld This link opens in a new windowIndustry market research reports of more than 700 United States industries; includes US Specialized Industry Reports, East Coast State Reports, and iExpert Summaries.
Looking to cite an industry database?
On my Research Guide for COB 300, I have tutorials for different resources like IBISWorld. The last slide always shows you where to find the information necessary to create an APA citation.
Industry associations (aka trade groups)
Additional research/resources might be available from groups that lobby on behalf of or provide support for firms operating in a particular industry. Sometimes data is restricted to members.
- Select USA: Industry spotlightsThis site from the U.S. Dept. of Commerce gives an overview of industry trends and lists trade groups.
Academic studies
Professors publish research about effective strategies in their area of expertise. While these studies might use small sample sizes that can't be generalized to other organizations, they still might illuminate suggestions you hadn't considered.
JMU databases
- Business Source Complete This link opens in a new window
This link opens in a new window
Indexing and full text for periodicals and news sources covering all aspects of business, including business, country economic reports, company profiles, market research reports, industry reports, and SWOT analyses. - PsycINFO This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
An index with abstracts to journal articles, book chapters, books and dissertations in psychology and related disciplines (sociology, linguistics, anthropology, education, medicine, law, physiology, business, psychiatry, nursing, pharmacology).
Explanations for the general public
These sites try to translate the findings of academic research so that anyone can understand them. Some business schools, like Wharton or Kenan-Flagler at UNC, do this on their own sites. Look for links promising Research or Insights.
- The ConversationAn independent, nonprofit publisher of commentary and analysis, authored by academics and edited by journalists for the general public.
Citation searching
Found an article referenced in another source? Use these tools to find JMU access.
- Scopus This link opens in a new windowIndexing, abstracts, and citation searching for science and social science scholarly literature.
- Google Scholar This link opens in a new windowSearch across many disciplines and sources: articles, theses, books, abstracts and court opinions, from academic publishers, professional societies, online repositories, universities and other web sites.
- Interlibrary LoanRequest books, journal articles, and other materials NOT available in the JMU Libraries.
Think tanks and non-profits
Use research to advocate for social or policy solutions. Can be non-partisan, centrist, or lean liberal or conservative.
Allsides.com can help you identify a think tank or policy group's slant.
- Congressional Research ServiceProvides the public with access to research products produced by the Congressional Research Service (CRS) for the U.S. Congress.
- Pew Research CenterA nonpartisan American "fact tank" that provides information on social issues, public opinion, and demographic trends.
Consumer preferences
Market research reports about school shopping, kids' activities, or marketing to parents could help inform your strategy.
Note: Mintel requires you to agree to their terms each time you log in. You can't use information from their reports for commercial purposes or share the reports with anyone outside of JMU. You may use them as part of academic assignments only.
- Mintel Academic This link opens in a new windowA comprehensive resource full of reports on current issues in a wide array of domestic and international markets.
- Statista This link opens in a new windowA data aggregation and research platform covering worldwide markets, industries, and societal topics. Data is compiled from private and public sources aggregated from North American, Europe, and Asia.
Data & statistics
- Social Explorer This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
A demographic research tool that includes over 220 years of data and enables the creation of customizable, interactive maps. - PolicyMap This link opens in a new windowOnline mapping with data on demographics, real estate, health, jobs and more in communities across the US.
- DataUSAThe most comprehensive website and visualization engine of public U.S. Government data.
- Weldon Cooper Center for Public Service: Demographics Research CenterCreates population estimates that are used throughout Virginia for decision-making and fund allocation
Financial data
- Mergent Online This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
U.S. and international publicly-held company data and reports. - PrivCo This link opens in a new windowSource for business and financial research on non-publicly traded corporations, including family-owned, private equity-owned, venture-backed, and international unlisted companies.
Note: Users will need to register for an academic account using their JMU email address