Investigate a Nonprofit
These sites provide access to nonprofit organizations' 990 tax forms. Some also rate how organizations spend their money.
- ProPublica Nonprofit ExplorerContent type(s): Tax returns and financial details from tax-exempt organizations
Dates covered:IRS data released since 2013; tax filing documents as far back as 2001. - BBB Wise Giving AllianceContent type(s): Evaluative reports and guidelines to help donors make informed giving decisions and promotes accountability standards among organizations that solicit public contributions.
Dates covered: Varies by charity - Charity NavigatorContent type(s):Helps people "support the causes they care about by connecting them to the best charities that align with their passions and values."
Dates covered: Varies by charity - GuideStarContent type(s):Data and 1099 tax forms on non-profits.
Dates covered: Last 3-5 years
NOTE: Must create a free account to download
Recommended Databases
These databases will have scholarly articles or trade articles that discuss nonprofit management and donor behavior.
- Business Source Complete This link opens in a new windowIndexing and full text for periodicals and news sources covering all aspects of business, including business, country economic reports, company profiles, market research reports, industry reports, and SWOT analyses.
- OmniFile Full Text Mega This link opens in a new windowIndex with abstracts and some full text covering all subjects, including humanities and social sciences.
- PsycARTICLES This link opens in a new windowSearchable full-text, peer-reviewed scholarly and scientific articles in psychology.
