Meet our Peer Research Advisers
Best Resources for Management Research
Management topics are the least well covered by library databases, so these are my recommendations for other credible sources of this information. This list consists of resources that the business librarians recommend for Management Research.
- ADP: Annual Payroll Tax Rates (FUTA / SUTA / FICA)Payroll company ADP maintains this list of current tax rates in each U.S. state.
- BLS.gov: Employer Costs for Employee Compensation DataData shows what percentage of an employee's total compensation package goes to leave, insurance, bonuses, etc.
- BLS.gov: Occupational Employment Statistics DataThis data allows you to search for salaries specific to states or metropolitan areas.
- Fit Small Business: Workers’ Compensation Insurance Cost: Formula & Factors Impacting ItYour cost for workers' compensation insurance is determined by annual payroll, industry and the state where your business is based.
Tip: Make sure to find the employer rate for workers' comp -- not the employee rate (what an injured worker is paid). - O*NET OnLine: Job Analysis ToolThis tool includes information on skills, abilities, knowledges, work activities, and interests associated with occupations.
- The Official BoardSearch by company name or browse by industry. Try Stitch Fix.
- The Official Board via Nexis UniDon't want to sign up for an account at The Official Board website? Their charts are available in this Libraries database at no additional charge.
Finding an Organizational Chart for a Company
Organizational charts can be considered proprietary information, so they might be difficult to find for small firms or privately-held companies.
Large public companies and well-known startups often make their executive-level org charts available online. Try searching for a company by name in tools like The Official Board or Crunchbase.
Other strategies for finding charts:
- Try asking a similar firm if they'd be wiling to share theirs
- Google strategically and look through LOTS of results. Copy and paste this search: ("organizational chart" OR "org chart") [your industry] ext:pdf. Change [your industry} to the one you want to find. Here is an example search for org charts posted by libraries.
For advice on how to structure organizational charts, consult the Encyclopedia of Management (2019).
Image source: Luc Galoppin via Flickr
- The Official BoardSearch by company name or browse by industry. Try Stitch Fix.
- The Official Board via Nexis UniDon't want to sign up for an account at The Official Board website? Their charts are available in this Libraries database at no additional charge.
Estimate Your Costs for Salaries, Benefits & Payroll Taxes
When it comes to human capital, you will need to make decisions about what types of employees you will need to hire, how much salary to pay, and what employment benefits should be offered.
The location you have chosen for your business will play a significant role in these decisions.
These tabs will help you find data specific to different positions and states.
Image source: OnePoint Services via Flickr
The Bureau of Labor Statistics allows you to search for salaries specific to states or metropolitan areas using the Occupational Employment Statistics dataset. Salaries vary widely based on location, so this tool is most helpful once you have chosen where to base your company.
O*NET OnLine explains the job duties and required skills for different occupations (such as Industrial Production Managers and Transportation, Storage and Distribution Managers) and how that will affect wages.
Image source: DataUSA
Employee benefits might include health insurance, vacation time or a retirement plan. The Encyclopedia of Management defines several benefits that are commonly offered to employees.
And the Bureau of Labor Statistics (BLS) estimates the costs to employers for providing these benefits on top of the wages that employees earn. The BLS data is updated quarterly for private industry workers and government workers.
Image source: Storyblocks
- Definitions of different types of benefits (via Encyclopedia of Management, 8th ed.)What is a 401(k)? Or life insurance? Or an employee assistance program? This encyclopedia entry explains what these benefits are.
- Employer costs for employee compensation (BLS.gov)This report shows what percentage of an employee's total compensation package goes to leave, insurance, bonuses, etc.
Employers pay taxes on their payroll. These rates differ by state and may also vary by the employer's industry.
Usually, most COB 300 teams will use the rate for new employers.
Image source: Tax Foundation
- ADP: Annual Payroll Tax Rates (FUTA / SUTA / FICA)Payroll company ADP maintains this list of current tax rates in each U.S. state.
- Fit Small Business: Workers’ Compensation Insurance Cost: Formula & Factors Impacting ItYour cost for workers' compensation insurance is determined by annual payroll, industry and the state where your business is based.
Tip: Make sure you are looking for employer rate for workers' comp not the employee rate (what an injured worker is paid).
Tips for Getting the Best Info from Management Resources
JMU Libraries has created several tutorials in Google Slides to help students use our specialized business resources.
Click on the name of the database to open the tutorial that shows how to search for data and cite the information you find in APA style.
