Identify manufacturing processes
First, try searching for a description of a product similar to yours in the resources below. Take notes on machines, materials or processes that are identified. Use these as search terms later.
Can't find your exact product? Think more flexibly!
Is there an existing item that has similar characteristics? Perhaps you're making notebook paper that can be wiped and reused. The process for manufacturing whiteboards might provide information your group can use.
Recommended resources (manufacturing)
- How Stuff WorksSearch this YouTube channel for a product or process using the magnifying glass next to About.
- Inside the Factory (British TV series)Documentary series that goes inside various factories in Britain.
- PlastipediaTry A-Z processes
JMU databases
- ProQuest SciTech Collection This link opens in a new windowContent type(s): Scholarly articles, trade journals on science and technology topics.
Dates covered: 1693-present - Scopus This link opens in a new windowContent types: Abstracts and citations for peer-reviewed journals. The Get JMU Access buttons will connect you to an article's full-text, if available.
Dates covered: 1966-present
Print and e-books
Manufacturing books
Manufacturing Process Selection Handbook
Provides manufacturing process information maps (PRIMAs) provide detailed information on the characteristics and capabilities of 65 processes in a standard format. Offers detailed methods for estimating costs, both at the component and assembly level.
Making It: Manufacturing techniques for product design
Informative and incredibly easy to use, this bestselling book discusses more than a hundred production methods in detail.
Sustainable Materials, Processes and Production
Covers the environmental impact of materials, manufacturing processes, and product life cycles, and is also a guide on how to select and use them in an intelligent way.
Materials Processing Handbook
An examination of various materials processes, ranging from the nanoscale to metalworking and the processing of plastics, glass, and ceramics.
The Industrial Design Reference and Specification Book
Filled with information that is essential to successful product design, including information on measurement conversions, setting up files for prototyping and production runs, and manufacturing and packaging options.
Materials for Design
Provides much-needed information on the raw materials, and the 'low-down' on what these materials can be used for. Also contains emerging materials such as smart materials and self-healing plastics.
Environmentally Conscious Manufacturing
Advice, methods, and data on how to make manufacturing more environmentally friendly. Covers design, system improvement, pollution prevention, and compliance with environmental regulations.
Manufacturing and Design
Distinguishes between what is possible in principle for a certain process (as determined by physical law); what is possible in practice (the production method as determined by industrial state-of-the-art); and what is possible for a certain supplier (as determined by its production equipment).
Materials and Design: The art and science of material selection in product design
An introduction to the role of materials in manufacturing and design, with the help of familiar language and concepts.
Apparel Manufacturing Technology
Provides a broad conceptual and theoretical perspective of apparel manufacturing process starting from raw material selection to packaging and dispatch of goods.
The Physics of Modern Devices
Describes the basic physics behind a large number of devices encountered in everyday life, from the air conditioner to Blu-ray discs.
How Everyday Products Are Made
Entries describe in vivid detail the whys and hows of 50 products that figure prominently in the everyday lives of teens, providing step-by-step descriptions of the manufacturing process.
Materials Selection in Mechanical Design
Describes the procedures for material selection in mechanical design in order to ensure that the most suitable materials for a given application.
Find suppliers for machinery & raw materials
Once you have a list of potential processes, materials and machinery, you can start to search for suppliers.
A critical point to remember: If you find a supplier outside of North America, you will face additional costs to import them into the country. This will make it more difficult to calculate your production expenses.
The suppliers site is divided between search interfaces for North American suppliers and global suppliers (mostly Asia).
Help
Recommended resources (American suppliers)
- ThomasNetSearch for product manufacturers and distributors in the U.S.
- MacRAE's Blue BookWhere industrial buyers go to find the exact product or service they need.
- Grainger's Catalog (Online)Major industrial and commercial equipment and supplies catalog. Including prices.
- Material ConneXion This link opens in a new windowProvides sample images of 7,000 materials, plus descriptions, processing information, usage properties, etc.
Recommended resources (suppliers in Mexico & Canada)
- Canadian Trade Index (powered by MacRAE's)Search for Industrial and manufacturing products and services in Canada.
- Santander: Identify a supplier in MexicoProvides links to several business directories in Mexico where you can search for a supplier.
Potential resources (Global suppliers)
- KompassB2B directory operating in more than 60 countries.
- Alibaba.comMostly sourced through Asia. These prices often aren't truly reflective of the costs of acquiring, shipping both to the U.S. and then to your facility, and paying tariffs to import the items. Proceed cautiously with Alibaba quotes.
- Global SourcesMostly sourced through Asia, and raises the same issues as Alibaba. Proceed cautiously.
Estimate throughput rate
This is one place where you might optimize your time with the librarian to get recommendations more specific to your product. Be open to using books as sources of this information or leveraging contacts within existing companies to get benchmarks.
Pay attention to information you already have:
- Product specifications for your machinery in the catalog, instructional manual, or a spec sheet (often a PDF). Look for output per hour, such as gallons per hour or pieces per hour. Could be written as racks/hour or be measured in minutes (bottles per minute)
- Search in Google to find what plants claim they can do (sample search: bottles per hour bottling machine soda)
In the end, you will have to make an estimate based on the best available information. There isn't a perfect answer.
Recommended resources
Price your product
The markup rate - whether wholesale to retail, retail to consumer - varies by industry. There isn't one definitive source that provides this answer. Some strategies for finding this information:
- Examine prices of competitor products via Google, and look at consumer behavior reports to see how your features compare and how they want to spend their money.
- Look at the profit margin for the retail chain that is selling the items.
- Use Google strategically, and consider sites such as the Houston Chronicle, Shopify or Entrepreneur. Make sure to check the dates and use only current information.
Recommended resources
- ProcurementIQ This link opens in a new windowInsight and analysis on goods and services, specifically designed to help purchasing, supply chain management, and strategic sourcing professionals to identify price drivers and market characteristics that impact buying decisions.
Find quality management resources
JMU has several books on quality management in businesses. Besides the books below, considering using JMU's Library Search tool for phrases like: standards, "lean manufacturing," "Six Sigma," or "total quality management."
Recommended resources
- LinkedIn Learning This link opens in a new windowSearch for "quality management" to find videos about supply chain processes.
Quality control books
Design for Six Sigma
Explains how DFSS methodology is used to design robust products, processes, or services.
Lean Six Sigma for Small and Medium Sized Enterprises
Provides a roadmap for the successful implementation and deployment of LSS in SMEs.
ISO 9001:2015 for Small Businesses
Helps you understand how to achieve ISO compliance in a cost effective way.
ISO 9001: A complete guide to quality management systems
Explains all the new issues and topics required by the ISO 9001:2015 Standard.
Distribute your product
To distribute your product, you'll need to get the materials to your warehouse for manufacturing and then ship finished products.
Recommended resources (shipping INTO U.S.)
- World Freight Rates.comOnline ocean, air, rail, and truck shipping cost calculator-cum-networking site. Pricing based upon a number of carriers.
- Top 30 U.S. PortsLogistics Management trade journal ranks U.S. ports in terms of value and TEU capacity.
Recommended resources (shipping WITHIN U.S.)
This could be the rates you'll pay to have a supplier ship raw materials to you, or the price you'll pay to ship the final product to customers.
- UPS Rates and travel timesGround & air info.FedEx Freight Rates and Transit TimesGround & Air. Use the calculator to find the "classification code" for less-than-truckload (LTL) shipping. Download this PDF to see rates in 2023.DHL Express Rate Quote & Transit TimeSpecializes in international shipping and courier delivery services. This PDF shows the domestic rates for 2023.
Recommended resources (calculating tariffs)
These resources explain and help you figure out tariff or duty rates.
- Searching Harmonized Tariff System (HTS)Search this by keyword to figure out the duty rates on items you are importing.