Celebrate Freedom Day on Juneteenth
On display starting June 2022 (updated June 2023) • Selected by Malia Willey
Juneteenth is a celebration of the end of slavery in the United States. This federal holiday is also known as Freedom Day, Emancipation Day, Jubilee Day, and Black Independence Day. Learn more about Juneteenth and emancipation with this book display. Materials include books, children’s books, films, historical primary sources, and more.
Online Resources
- Juneteenth: What It Is and How It is Observed – NPR
- Juneteenth – Texas State Historical Association
- Juneteenth Jamboree – Austin PBS
- Juneteenth: Fact Sheet – Congressional Research Service
- Five Ways to Learn About Juneteenth with The New York Times – The New York Times
Primary Source Databases
These databases are only available to those with a JMU eID and password. If you are off campus, you will need to follow instructions to set up your computer to access databases and journals.
- African Americans and Reconstruction, 1865-1883 This link opens in a new window
This link opens in a new window
Fully searchable printed works essential for understanding the African-American struggle for identity from the end of the Civil War to the beginning of Jim Crow. - HistoryMakers Digital Archive This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
Video archive of African American oral histories documenting the men and women who have made significant contributions to American life, history, and culture during the 19th, 20th, and 21st centuries. - ProQuest Historical Newspapers: Black Newspaper Collection This link opens in a new windowA collection of prominent Black newspapers, such as the Chicago Defender, Baltimore Afro-American, New York Amsterdam News, Pittsburgh Courier, and The Norfolk Journal and Guide.
